BowlGrade Search foods

Brand № 23 / 31 · Kibble / retail · Captured 2026-07-25

Purina Pro Plan

Owned by Nestlé Purina PetCare Kibble / retail 4 recalls high

Nestlé Purina performance and specialty line, and the best-selling dry dog food brand in the United States. Many recipes are substantiated by AAFCO feeding trials rather than formulation alone. Guaranteed analysis, calorie content and the verbatim AAFCO statement are published in a per-product label-deck PDF linked from each product page, not in the page body.

Purina Pro Plan is owned by Nestlé Purina PetCare (Nestlé S.A.). Of the 21 foods we hold, 21 publish a nutrient analysis, 21 a calorie statement, 21 an ingredient list and 21 a nutritional-completeness statement. 21 of those are AAFCO statements. 16 of the AAFCO statements rest on animal feeding tests rather than formulation alone. Those counts are what the transparency mark above records — how we read a label.

Recall history

4 events on record, newest first. The marker is filled where the notice reports illness or death and hollow where it does not; that is read from the notice, not scored. Every event links to its own source.

  1. 2023
  2. 2023-03

    Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated

    Expansion of the February 2023 recall: a supplier production error resulted in potentially elevated levels of vitamin D in two additional

    Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); two additional production codes (first 8 characters): 2213 1082, 2

    Distributed throughout the United States by prescription only through veterinary clinics, Purina Vet Direct, Purina for Professionals, and

    Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology

  3. 2023-02

    Purina Pro Plan Illness or death reported

    Potentially elevated levels of vitamin D. Illnesses reported: the FDA notice states Purina acted "after receiving two contacts about two s

    Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); production codes (first 8 characters): 2249 1082, 2250 1082, 2276

    Distributed throughout the United States by prescription only through veterinary clinics, Purina Vet Direct, Purina for Professionals, and

    Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology

  4. 2022
  5. 2022-11

    Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated

    Mislabeling. For a brief period on September 15, 2022, cans of a different complete and balanced adult dog food, Purina ONE True Instinct

    Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EN Gastroenteric Low Fat (PPVD EN Low Fat) prescription wet dog food in 13.4 oz cans. UPC 38100 17599; "Best Before Sept 2024"; production code (first 13 characters) 22581159 L4TR6.

    "A limited amount." Available by prescription only and distributed through veterinary clinics and other retailers able to validate a presc

    Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology

  6. 2016
  7. 2016-03

    Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated

    Purina's own quality testing found that some 10-oz. wet dog food tubs "may not contain the recommended level of added vitamins and mineral

    Pro Plan Savory Meals Wet Dog Food 10-oz. tubs, five varieties: Braised Chicken Entrée (UPC 38100-16148), Braised Pork Entrée (38100-16151), Braised Turkey Entrée (38100-16147), Grilled Salmon Entrée (38100-16155), Bra

    Retail-level voluntary recall. Affected items were produced at one Purina facility on one production line in St. Joseph, Missouri, and wer

    Source newscenter.purina.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology

All 55 events in the recall tracker

Purina Pro Plan foods in the database

Protein is converted to a dry-matter basis so these rows compare to any other format on the site. The bar under each calorie figure spans the full 203-food range, with the tick at the median, so a bar here means what the same bar means anywhere else.

Dry-matter values computed from each label's published analysis. Hatched cells are values Purina Pro Plan does not publish. Scroll horizontally to see all 4 columns.
Food Form Protein DM kcal / kg
Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 33% 3672
Adult 7+ Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Formula Dry kibble 33% 3910
Adult Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 29.5% 3688
Adult Sensitive Skin & Stomach Lamb & Oat Meal Formula Dry kibble 29.5% 3926
Adult Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Formula Dry kibble 29.5% 3903
Adult Sensitive Skin & Stomach Turkey & Oat Meal Formula Dry kibble 29.5% 3997
Adult Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 29.5% 3790
Adult Small Breed Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 33% 4053
Adult Weight Management Beef & Rice Entrée in Gravy Wet / canned 50% 849
Adult Weight Management Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 30.7% 3516
Adult Weight Management Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 30.7% 3578
AdvantEDGE Digestive Support+ Salmon & Oat Meal Dry kibble 29.5% 3794
Bright Mind Adult 7+ Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 33% 3791
Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic Wet / canned 40.9% 1186
Puppy Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic Wet / canned 45.5% 1187
Puppy Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 31.8% 4167
Puppy Large Breed Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 31.8% 3934
Puppy Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Formula Dry kibble 31.8% 3976
Puppy Small Breed Formula Dry kibble 37.5% 4311
Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Entrée Classic Wet / canned 29.5% 1006
Sport Performance 30/20 Chicken & Rice Formula Dry kibble 34.1% 4390

proplan.com is the manufacturer's own site and the source everything above was captured from on . Manufacturers reformulate without announcing it, so the bag in your hand outranks this page.

Comparisons featuring Purina Pro Plan

No head-to-head comparison featuring Purina Pro Plan yet — which is a gap in our coverage, not a verdict on the brand. The 6 we have published are here, each with the date it was checked.

Brands with a similar profile

Same format, then the nearest label transparency and the nearest number of foods. It is a routing rule, not a recommendation.

Kibble / retail · 14 foods

Iams

Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare). 5 recalls on record.

Kibble / retail · 10 foods

Beneful

Nestlé Purina PetCare (Nestlé S.A.). 1 recall on record.

Kibble / retail · 10 foods

Natural Balance

Natural Balance Pet Foods (Nexus Capital). 4 recalls on record.

Source proplan.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-25 Methodology