No recall on record
Zignature
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records, Petful, PawDiet and DogFoodAdvisor recall databases.
Tracker checked
55 recall events, covering 20 of the 31 brands in this database, newest first. They are compiled from FDA recall notices and independent recall archives: 15 link to a notice on fda.gov, the other 40 to an archive that documented the event. Every entry shows the hostname of the source it came from, so you can see who you are being sent to before you click.
Recall events
55
across 20 brands, each with its own source link
Span of record
2002–2026
earliest and latest event on file
Brands clean
11
of 31 tracked, no recall on record
Brands affected
20
with at least one event on file
2026-07
Pedigree Illness not stated
Hard, sharp metal with plastic. Two lots that had failed QC and been sent for destruction were fraudulently diverted to market
High Protein Chopped Chicken & Duck wet food, 13.2 oz cans; lot codes 613C3KKCFC and 613C1KKCFC only
United States; product reached shelves through unauthorised channels
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2025-12
Fromm Illness not stated
Potential foreign material (plastic)
Bonnihill Farms BeefiBowls frozen/fresh dog food (hundreds of cases)
US, voluntary
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2025-12
Purina Dog Chow Illness not stated
Distributor-level (retail) recall by Gold Star Distribution, Inc. of all FDA-regulated products held at its Minneapolis facility. FDA dete
Per the FDA-posted Gold Star product list: PURINA DOG CHOW 4.4 lb/4 ct (UPCs 017800410274 and 017800180283) and PURINA PUPPY CHOW 4 lb/4 ct (UPC 017800180269). PURINA CAT CHOW COMPLETE 4/3.15 lb was also on the list. T
Retail-level recall limited to stock shipped from Gold Star Distribution, 1000 N. Humboldt Ave, Minneapolis, MN, to the 54 independent gro
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2024-05
Pedigree Illness not stated
Loose metal pieces in the bag. Mars states there were no reports of pet injury
Adult Complete Nutrition Grilled Steak & Vegetable dry, 44 lb; Best By 4 March 2025; lot 410B2TXT02
Walmart stores in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas; announced 17 May 2024
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2023-11
Victor Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella contamination; expansion of the October 30, 2023 recall. FDA announcement: "This expanded voluntary recall is being i
All dog and cat food made at the Mount Pleasant, Texas facility with Best By Dates before 10/31/2024. Victor Super Premium Dog Food varieties named by FDA: Classic Hi-Pro Plus, Classic High Energy, Classic Multi-Pro, C
Plant-wide across every brand produced at the Mount Pleasant, Texas facility, bounded by best-by date (before 10/31/2024). Company announc
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2023-10
Victor Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella contamination. FDA announcement: "This voluntary recall was initiated after a third-party conducted random sampling a
Victor Super Premium Dog Food, Select Beef Meal & Brown Rice Formula — three lots, all Best By Date 6/12/2024: lot 1000016890 (5 pound bag), lot 1000016891 (15 pound bag), lot 1000016892 (40 pound bag).
Three lots. Company announcement and FDA publish date October 30, 2023. "Products were distributed to various distributors and retailers i
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2023-09
Victor Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella contamination. FDA announcement: "This voluntary recall is being issued due to a single sample of Victor Super Premiu
Victor Super Premium Dog Food, Hi-Pro Plus — one lot, 644 cases, 5-pound bags only, lot code 1000016385, Best By Date 4/30/2024. FDA announcement: "No other products are included in this recall."
Single lot. Company announcement date September 3, 2023; FDA publish date September 4, 2023. "Products were distributed to various distrib
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2023-03
Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated
Expansion of the February 2023 recall: a supplier production error resulted in potentially elevated levels of vitamin D in two additional
Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); two additional production codes (first 8 characters): 2213 1082, 2
Distributed throughout the United States by prescription only through veterinary clinics, Purina Vet Direct, Purina for Professionals, and
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2023-02
Purina Pro Plan Illness or death reported
Potentially elevated levels of vitamin D. Illnesses reported: the FDA notice states Purina acted "after receiving two contacts about two s
Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); production codes (first 8 characters): 2249 1082, 2250 1082, 2276
Distributed throughout the United States by prescription only through veterinary clinics, Purina Vet Direct, Purina for Professionals, and
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2022-11
Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated
Mislabeling. For a brief period on September 15, 2022, cans of a different complete and balanced adult dog food, Purina ONE True Instinct
Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EN Gastroenteric Low Fat (PPVD EN Low Fat) prescription wet dog food in 13.4 oz cans. UPC 38100 17599; "Best Before Sept 2024"; production code (first 13 characters) 22581159 L4TR6.
"A limited amount." Available by prescription only and distributed through veterinary clinics and other retailers able to validate a presc
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2022-11
Purina ONE Illness not stated
Labeling error. FDA notice: "For a brief period on September 15, 2022, cans of a different complete and balanced adult dog food, Purina ON
Cans bearing the Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EN Gastroenteric Low Fat label, 13.4 oz, UPC 38100 17599, production code 22581159 L4TR6, "Best Before Sept 2024". The food inside those cans was Purina ONE True Instin
Voluntary recall by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company; company announcement date 2022-11-30, FDA publish date 2022-12-02. The affected product
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2022-09
Spot & Tango Notice reports no illness
Potential salmonella
Four batches of UnKibble (Beef & Barley, Duck & Salmon, Chicken & Brown Rice variants)
Direct-to-consumer shipments; no illnesses reported
Source dogfoodadvisor.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2021-10
Fromm Illness not stated
Potentially elevated vitamin D
Four-Star Shredded Entrée canned dog food (~5,500 cases)
Nationwide, voluntary
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2021-01
Pedigree Illness not stated
Vitamin D exceeding the maximum permitted intake
Mixer Adult Dry Dog Original, 3 kg and 10 kg, specific batches
United Kingdom retail; FSA notice FSA-PRIN-04-2021, 15 January 2021
Source web.archive.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2019-01
Hill's Science Diet Illness or death reported
Toxic/elevated vitamin D caused by a supplier vitamin premix error
Canned dog foods (Science Diet and Prescription Diet); expanded March 2019 to 33 varieties, 22M+ cans
US and international; dog deaths reported; class action later settled
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2018-10
JustFoodForDogs Notice reports no illness
Possible Listeria monocytogenes from a green bean supplier
Three daily diets: Beef & Russet Potato, Fish & Sweet Potato, Turkey & Whole Wheat Macaroni
Retail and DTC; voluntary; no illnesses reported
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2018-05
Merrick Illness not stated
Potentially elevated levels of a naturally-occurring beef thyroid hormone. FDA shared one consumer complaint with Merrick in which a dog's
Beef dog treats only, specific production codes: Castor & Pollux Good Buddy Prime Patties Real Beef Recipe 4 oz (UPC 780872510806); Castor & Pollux Good Buddy Sausage Cuts Real Beef Recipe 5 oz (UPC 780872510745); Merr
Company announcement dated May 23, 2018 (FDA publish date March 27, 2020). Distributed in the U.S. through pet specialty, grocery and onli
Source fda.gov ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2016-10
Cesar Notice reports no illness
Choking risk from hard white pieces of plastic that entered the food during production; Mars reported no injuries or illnesses
CESAR Classics Filet Mignon Flavor wet dog food, UPC 23100017792; individual trays lots 631FKKC and 631GKKC, plus 11 variety-pack lots
Retail customers throughout the United States; announced 7 October 2016
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2016-03
Fromm Illness not stated
Elevated vitamin D / inadequate vitamin-mineral levels
Fromm Gold 12-oz canned: Chicken Pate, Chicken & Duck Pate, Salmon & Chicken Pate
US, voluntary
Source petful.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2016-03
Purina Pro Plan Illness not stated
Purina's own quality testing found that some 10-oz. wet dog food tubs "may not contain the recommended level of added vitamins and mineral
Pro Plan Savory Meals Wet Dog Food 10-oz. tubs, five varieties: Braised Chicken Entrée (UPC 38100-16148), Braised Pork Entrée (38100-16151), Braised Turkey Entrée (38100-16147), Grilled Salmon Entrée (38100-16155), Bra
Retail-level voluntary recall. Affected items were produced at one Purina facility on one production line in St. Joseph, Missouri, and wer
Source newscenter.purina.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2016-03
Beneful Illness or death reported
Tubs "may not contain the recommended level of added vitamins and minerals" (Purina's wording); found by Purina's own testing.
Beneful Prepared Meals and Beneful Chopped Blends wet dog food 10-oz. tubs, all varieties (also Pro Plan Savory Meals 10-oz., 5 varieties). Best Before Jun 2017-Aug 2017; production codes 5363-6054.
Voluntary; sold in the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico; one line at one plant. Announcement does not address illness reports.
Source newscenter.purina.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2015-12
Nutro Illness not stated
AVMA records the reason as 'potential for mold growth'.
NUTRO Chewy Treats Apple 4 oz, UPC 7910511344, lot codes beginning '4 50', '5 02', '5 03' or '5 05' regardless of best-by date (product also listed as 'NUTRO CHEWY Treats with Real Apples, 4 oz', PetSmart SKU 5229600).
Dog TREATS only, not dog food. AVMA records the recall date as 12/14/2015. The product was sold through PetSmart and consumers were direct
Source avma.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2014-08
Pedigree Illness not stated
Small metal fragments that may have entered packages during production
Adult Complete Nutrition dry dog food; 15 lb bags, later extended to further sizes and lots
US only; Dollar General stores in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2013-08
Purina ONE Illness not stated
Salmonella contamination. The firm press release archived by FDA states one bag of the product was found to be contaminated with Salmonell
Purina ONE beyOnd Our White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Adult Dry Dog Food, 3.5 lb. bags. Identified by "Best By" date OCT 2014 AND production code 31071083 together; UPC 17800 12679.
Voluntary recall announced 2013-08-30 by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company. Limited number of 3.5 lb. bags from a single production run shippe
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2013-08
Iams Illness or death reported
Potential Salmonella contamination. The FDA notice states "No Salmonella-related illnesses have been reported to date in association with
Iams dry dog foods, verbatim from the FDA notice: Iams Dog Food Healthy Naturals Chicken Adult (2.9, 5, 13.3 and 25.7 lb; best-by 7Nov14–13Nov14); Iams Dog Food Healthy Naturals Weight Control Adult (13.3 lb; 8Nov14);
United States, select retailers. Specific lots only, representing "roughly one-tenth of one percent (0.1%) of annual production". Announce
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2013-03
Iams Illness not stated
Potential mold growth; the manufacturer stated the treats "do not meet our quality standards". Trade coverage reports Iams confirmed "No a
Iams Shakeables Soft & Chewy Treats for Dogs, Turkey flavour lot codes 2342, 2325, 2331, 2332, 2341, 3016, 3017, 3018 and 3046, and Lamb flavour lot code 2338. The chicken flavour was not affected.
Dog treats, not dog food. Limited lot codes only; P&G Pet Care (Mason, Ohio) characterised the action as a voluntary withdrawal and handle
Source veterinarypracticenews.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2012-06
Pedigree Illness not stated
Potential choking risk from small pieces of blue plastic that entered the food during production
Three weight-management canned varieties, including PEDIGREE+ Healthy Weight Premium Ground Entree
Retail customers throughout the United States; announced 30 June 2012
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2012-05
Taste of the Wild Illness not stated
Salmonella (Diamond Gaston, SC plant co-manufacturing event)
Dry dog food produced at the Gaston, SC plant
Part of the Diamond 2012 recall; the only Taste of the Wild recall to date
Source pawdiet.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2012-05
Natural Balance Illness not stated
Salmonella (Diamond Gaston, SC plant co-manufacturing event)
Sweet Potato & Venison, Lamb & Rice, Sweet Potato & Bison, Vegetarian dry formulas
Part of the Diamond 2012 event
Source pawdiet.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2012-05
Canidae Illness not stated
Voluntary recall for the potential for Salmonella, prompted by contamination found at the Diamond Pet Food plant in Gaston, South Carolina
Four dry dog foods: Canidae Dog, All Life Stages; Canidae Dog, Chicken Meal & Rice; Canidae Dog, Lamb Meal & Rice; Canidae Dog, Platinum. Limited to product manufactured between December 9, 2011 and January 31, 2012 at
Voluntary recall initiated by Canidae Pet Foods, announced May 5, 2012. Distribution limited to seven eastern U.S. states: Florida, Massac
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2012-04
Diamond Illness or death reported
Salmonella Infantis at the Gaston, SC plant; linked human outbreak (49 people)
Diamond Naturals and Puppy Formula plus co-manufactured brands including Taste of the Wild, Kirkland, Natural Balance, Wellness, Canidae, Solid Gold and 4health
Rolling recalls April–May 2012; $2M class action settlement
Source foodsafetynews.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2011-12
Iams Notice reports no illness
Aflatoxin detected above the acceptable limit. The FDA notice states "No illnesses have been reported in association with this production
Iams ProActive Health Smart Puppy dry dog food, one production lot, use-by / expiration date 5 February 2013 or 6 February 2013: 7.0 lb bag (code 12784177I6, UPC 1901402305); 8.0 lb bag (codes 12794177D2 and 12794177D3
A single production lot distributed to a limited number of retailers in AL, CT, DE, FL, GA, LA, MD, ME, MS, NC, NH, NJ, NY, PA, SC and VA.
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2011-08
Merrick Notice reports no illness
Potential Salmonella contamination, identified through routine sampling by the FDA. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to
A single lot of Merrick Doggie Wishbone pet treat (Item #29050, UPC 2280829050, Lot 11031, Best By 30 Jan 2013). The notice states only one lot of Doggie Wishbone is affected and 'No other Merrick brand products are in
Firm press release dated August 8, 2011. 248 cases of the lot were manufactured and shipped to distributors in 10 states; the notice also
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2011-01
Merrick Notice reports no illness
Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date.'
Merrick Jr. Texas Taffy pet treat (Item #27077, UPC 02280827077), all lots up to and including 10364.
Firm press release dated January 28, 2011. Shipped to distributors and retailers throughout the US. Voluntary recall.
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-08
Merrick Notice reports no illness
Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date.'
All lots of the 10 oz 'Beef Filet Squares' for Dogs and 'Texas Hold'ems' pet treats (Item #60016). Final and broadest stage of the 2010 salmonella event.
Firm press release dated August 16, 2010. Shipped to distributors and retailers throughout the US. Voluntary recall. This notice supersede
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-08
Merrick Notice reports no illness
Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date for either lot of product. A sample tested
Extension of the July 2, 2010 recall to add 83 cases of 10 oz 'Texas Hold'ems' (Item #60016, Lot 10127, Best By May 6, 2012), in addition to the previously recalled Lot 10084TL7.
Firm press release dated August 3, 2010. Shipped to distributors and retailers throughout the US. Voluntary recall; second of three escala
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-07
Iams Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella contamination, described by P&G as a precautionary measure after it determined, in cooperation with FDA, that product
Iams Veterinary Dry Formulas — all dry sizes and varieties, all UPC codes; Eukanuba Naturally Wild, Eukanuba Pure and Eukanuba Custom Care Sensitive Skin — all dry sizes and varieties. "Best By" dates 01Jul10 through 0
Sold through veterinary clinics and specialty pet retailers throughout the United States and Canada; all product made in a single, special
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-07
Merrick Notice reports no illness
Potential Salmonella contamination; an FDA surveillance sample tested positive. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to dat
86 cases of 10 oz 'Beef Filet Squares for Dogs' pet treats (Item #60016, Lot 10084TL7, Best By March 24, 2012).
Firm press release dated July 2, 2010. Shipped to distributors and retailers throughout the US. Voluntary recall; first of three escalatin
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-06
Natural Balance Illness not stated
Salmonella positive test
Sweet Potato & Chicken dry (5 and 28 lb bags)
US
Source pawdiet.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2010-01
Merrick Illness not stated
Possible Salmonella contamination, detected by FDA routine testing in December 2009; a follow-up inspection found deficiencies in the pack
Merrick Beef Filet Squares for dogs with a package date of 'Best By 111911', packaged in a 10-ounce green, red and tan re-sealable plastic bag.
FDA consumer warning dated January 14, 2010, following a recall the firm initiated by letter to customers dated January 11, 2010. Distribu
Source prnewswire.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2009-09
Nutro Illness not stated
Small pieces of melted plastic found in the production line of select NUTRO dry dog and cat food products. Nutro's press release, reproduc
Per AVMA/JAVMA: 'Nutro Ultra Puppy food in 4.5-pound packages, bar code 79105 51313, and Nutro Natural Choice: Chicken Meal, Rice and Oatmeal Formula Small Bites Puppy food in 5-pound packages, bar code 79105 23050' an
Dry puppy food. Nutro stated only three SKUs reached retail stores. AVMA reports distribution as PetSmart stores in Arizona, California, C
Source avma.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2009-05
Nutro Illness not stated
Incorrect levels of zinc and potassium in finished product resulting from a production error by a US-based premix supplier. Per the FDA-po
Select varieties of NUTRO NATURAL CHOICE COMPLETE CARE Dry Cat Foods and NUTRO MAX Cat Dry Foods with 'Best If Used By Dates' between May 12, 2010 and August 22, 2010.
CAT FOOD ONLY. The FDA-posted release states verbatim: 'This recall does not affect any NUTRO dog food products, wet dog or cat food, or d
Source web.archive.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2008-11
Orijen Illness not stated
Vitamin A depletion from 60 kGy gamma irradiation required for import to Australia. The recall itself covered Orijen CAT food.
All Orijen cat food sold in Australia. Orijen dog food was withdrawn from shelves precautionarily, the company citing cats eating from dog bowls.
Australia only; no US or Canadian product affected. No Orijen recall has ever been recorded in North America.
Source img.petfoodindustry.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2008-09
Pedigree Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella Schwarzengrund contamination at the Everson, Pennsylvania plant
All product made at Everson between 18 February and 29 July 2008, including Large Breed Adult
United States; announced 12 September 2008, revised 17 September
Source web.archive.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2008-08
Pedigree Illness not stated
Potential Salmonella contamination. Mars states there were no complaints or reports of injury
Complete Nutrition Small Crunchy Bites, 20 lb bags; lot 830BFCAT02; Best Buy 07/2009
Albertsons stores in Southern California and Las Vegas; announced 8 August 2008
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-09
Pedigree Illness not stated
Possible contamination with metal fragments in chilled dog rolls
Chilled dog rolls
New Zealand only; no United States product involved. Not an FDA event
Source nzherald.co.nz ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-07
Natural Balance Illness not stated
Possible botulinum toxin (Castleberry's co-packer)
Four canned varieties: Irish Stew, Chinese Take Out, Hobo Chili, Southern Style Dumplings
US
Source pawdiet.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-04
Natural Balance Illness not stated
Melamine in rice protein concentrate (industry-wide 2007 event)
Venison & Brown Rice dog foods, venison treats, venison cat food
Part of the 2007 industry-wide melamine recalls
Source pawdiet.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-04
Royal Canin Illness not stated
Melamine in rice protein concentrate (industry-wide 2007 event)
Veterinary Diet formulas; expanded May 2007 to Sensible Choice and Kasco dry
Part of the 2007 industry-wide melamine recalls
Source petful.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-03
Iams Illness not stated
Wheat gluten adulterated with melamine, supplied by ChemNutra Inc. and used by contract manufacturer Menu Foods; P&G Pet Care joined Menu
Iams and Eukanuba canned and small foil pouch "wet" cat and dog foods manufactured at Menu Foods Inc.'s Emporia, Kansas plant: 3 oz., 5.5 oz., 6 oz. and 13.2 oz. cans and 3 oz. and 5.3 oz. foil pouches bearing code dat
United States and Canada. Announced 16 March 2007 as P&G Pet Care's participation in the wider Menu Foods recall, which grew over the foll
Source wayback.archive-it.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2007-03
Nutro Illness not stated
Melamine contamination traced to wheat gluten supplied by ChemNutra Inc. (imported from Xuzhou Anying Biologic Technology Development Co.,
Nutro-branded canned and pouch WET dog food produced by Menu Foods. Menu Foods' own recall site carried four Nutro dog listings: 'Nutro' / 'Nutro Ultra' (12.5 oz cans 3U-104 Adult, 3U-204 Puppy, 3U-304 Weight Managemen
North American recall by Menu Foods of product made in its 'cuts and gravy' format between 2006-12-03 and 2007-03-06, expanded on 2007-04-
Source web.archive.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2006-02
Royal Canin Illness not stated
Excess vitamin D3
Multiple Veterinary Diet canned dog and cat formulas
US
Source petful.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2005-12
Diamond Illness or death reported
Aflatoxin contamination in corn
Diamond, Country Value and Professional dry foods produced at the Gaston, SC plant
Approximately 100+ dog deaths; 23 states plus international distribution
Source petful.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2004-03
Pedigree Illness not stated
Mould found in raw materials at the Pakchong, Thailand plant
Pedigree dry dog food and several dog treat products made at Pakchong
Asia only (Taiwan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Japan, SE Asia); no US product
Source taipeitimes.com ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
2002-09
Merrick Illness not stated
'Pet treats containing salmonella' (FDA Enforcement Report wording). Classified by FDA as Class I. Recall #V-007-3.
Merrick Brand Pet Treats Delicatessen Style Beef Steak Patties, packaged 75 treats per case, Lot PG1621. Volume in commerce: 330 cases of 75 patties each.
Firm-initiated recall by press release on September 19, 2002; recall listed as complete. Distribution: Canada only. Published in FDA Enfor
Source web.archive.org ↗ Captured 2026-07-27 Methodology
The timeline above and the table below are the same 55 records. The table is the one that survives printing, a dead stylesheet, and a phone.
| Date | Brand | Reason | Products affected | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pedigree | Hard, sharp metal with plastic. Two lots that had failed QC and been sent for destruction were fraudulently diverted to market | High Protein Chopped Chicken & Duck wet food, 13.2 oz cans; lot codes 613C3KKCFC and 613C1KKCFC only | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Fromm | Potential foreign material (plastic) | Bonnihill Farms BeefiBowls frozen/fresh dog food (hundreds of cases) | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Purina Dog Chow | Distributor-level (retail) recall by Gold Star Distribution, Inc. of all FDA-regulated products held at its Minneapolis facility. FDA dete | Per the FDA-posted Gold Star product list: PURINA DOG CHOW 4.4 lb/4 ct (UPCs 017800410274 and 017800180283) and PURINA PUPPY CHOW 4 lb/4 ct (UPC 017800180269). PURINA CAT CHOW COMPLETE 4/3.15 lb was also on the list. T | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Loose metal pieces in the bag. Mars states there were no reports of pet injury | Adult Complete Nutrition Grilled Steak & Vegetable dry, 44 lb; Best By 4 March 2025; lot 410B2TXT02 | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Victor | Potential Salmonella contamination; expansion of the October 30, 2023 recall. FDA announcement: "This expanded voluntary recall is being i | All dog and cat food made at the Mount Pleasant, Texas facility with Best By Dates before 10/31/2024. Victor Super Premium Dog Food varieties named by FDA: Classic Hi-Pro Plus, Classic High Energy, Classic Multi-Pro, C | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Victor | Potential Salmonella contamination. FDA announcement: "This voluntary recall was initiated after a third-party conducted random sampling a | Victor Super Premium Dog Food, Select Beef Meal & Brown Rice Formula — three lots, all Best By Date 6/12/2024: lot 1000016890 (5 pound bag), lot 1000016891 (15 pound bag), lot 1000016892 (40 pound bag). | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Victor | Potential Salmonella contamination. FDA announcement: "This voluntary recall is being issued due to a single sample of Victor Super Premiu | Victor Super Premium Dog Food, Hi-Pro Plus — one lot, 644 cases, 5-pound bags only, lot code 1000016385, Best By Date 4/30/2024. FDA announcement: "No other products are included in this recall." | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Purina Pro Plan | Expansion of the February 2023 recall: a supplier production error resulted in potentially elevated levels of vitamin D in two additional | Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); two additional production codes (first 8 characters): 2213 1082, 2 | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Purina Pro Plan | Potentially elevated levels of vitamin D. Illnesses reported: the FDA notice states Purina acted "after receiving two contacts about two s | Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EL Elemental (PPVD EL) prescription dry dog food, 8 lb and 20 lb bags. UPC 38100 19190 (8 lb) and 38100 19192 (20 lb); production codes (first 8 characters): 2249 1082, 2250 1082, 2276 | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Purina Pro Plan | Mislabeling. For a brief period on September 15, 2022, cans of a different complete and balanced adult dog food, Purina ONE True Instinct | Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EN Gastroenteric Low Fat (PPVD EN Low Fat) prescription wet dog food in 13.4 oz cans. UPC 38100 17599; "Best Before Sept 2024"; production code (first 13 characters) 22581159 L4TR6. | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Purina ONE | Labeling error. FDA notice: "For a brief period on September 15, 2022, cans of a different complete and balanced adult dog food, Purina ON | Cans bearing the Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets EN Gastroenteric Low Fat label, 13.4 oz, UPC 38100 17599, production code 22581159 L4TR6, "Best Before Sept 2024". The food inside those cans was Purina ONE True Instin | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Spot & Tango | Potential salmonella | Four batches of UnKibble (Beef & Barley, Duck & Salmon, Chicken & Brown Rice variants) | dogfoodadvisor.com ↗ | |
| Fromm | Potentially elevated vitamin D | Four-Star Shredded Entrée canned dog food (~5,500 cases) | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Vitamin D exceeding the maximum permitted intake | Mixer Adult Dry Dog Original, 3 kg and 10 kg, specific batches | web.archive.org ↗ | |
| Hill's Science Diet | Toxic/elevated vitamin D caused by a supplier vitamin premix error | Canned dog foods (Science Diet and Prescription Diet); expanded March 2019 to 33 varieties, 22M+ cans | fda.gov ↗ | |
| JustFoodForDogs | Possible Listeria monocytogenes from a green bean supplier | Three daily diets: Beef & Russet Potato, Fish & Sweet Potato, Turkey & Whole Wheat Macaroni | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potentially elevated levels of a naturally-occurring beef thyroid hormone. FDA shared one consumer complaint with Merrick in which a dog's | Beef dog treats only, specific production codes: Castor & Pollux Good Buddy Prime Patties Real Beef Recipe 4 oz (UPC 780872510806); Castor & Pollux Good Buddy Sausage Cuts Real Beef Recipe 5 oz (UPC 780872510745); Merr | fda.gov ↗ | |
| Cesar | Choking risk from hard white pieces of plastic that entered the food during production; Mars reported no injuries or illnesses | CESAR Classics Filet Mignon Flavor wet dog food, UPC 23100017792; individual trays lots 631FKKC and 631GKKC, plus 11 variety-pack lots | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Fromm | Elevated vitamin D / inadequate vitamin-mineral levels | Fromm Gold 12-oz canned: Chicken Pate, Chicken & Duck Pate, Salmon & Chicken Pate | petful.com ↗ | |
| Purina Pro Plan | Purina's own quality testing found that some 10-oz. wet dog food tubs "may not contain the recommended level of added vitamins and mineral | Pro Plan Savory Meals Wet Dog Food 10-oz. tubs, five varieties: Braised Chicken Entrée (UPC 38100-16148), Braised Pork Entrée (38100-16151), Braised Turkey Entrée (38100-16147), Grilled Salmon Entrée (38100-16155), Bra | newscenter.purina.com ↗ | |
| Beneful | Tubs "may not contain the recommended level of added vitamins and minerals" (Purina's wording); found by Purina's own testing. | Beneful Prepared Meals and Beneful Chopped Blends wet dog food 10-oz. tubs, all varieties (also Pro Plan Savory Meals 10-oz., 5 varieties). Best Before Jun 2017-Aug 2017; production codes 5363-6054. | newscenter.purina.com ↗ | |
| Nutro | AVMA records the reason as 'potential for mold growth'. | NUTRO Chewy Treats Apple 4 oz, UPC 7910511344, lot codes beginning '4 50', '5 02', '5 03' or '5 05' regardless of best-by date (product also listed as 'NUTRO CHEWY Treats with Real Apples, 4 oz', PetSmart SKU 5229600). | avma.org ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Small metal fragments that may have entered packages during production | Adult Complete Nutrition dry dog food; 15 lb bags, later extended to further sizes and lots | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Purina ONE | Salmonella contamination. The firm press release archived by FDA states one bag of the product was found to be contaminated with Salmonell | Purina ONE beyOnd Our White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Adult Dry Dog Food, 3.5 lb. bags. Identified by "Best By" date OCT 2014 AND production code 31071083 together; UPC 17800 12679. | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Iams | Potential Salmonella contamination. The FDA notice states "No Salmonella-related illnesses have been reported to date in association with | Iams dry dog foods, verbatim from the FDA notice: Iams Dog Food Healthy Naturals Chicken Adult (2.9, 5, 13.3 and 25.7 lb; best-by 7Nov14–13Nov14); Iams Dog Food Healthy Naturals Weight Control Adult (13.3 lb; 8Nov14); | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Iams | Potential mold growth; the manufacturer stated the treats "do not meet our quality standards". Trade coverage reports Iams confirmed "No a | Iams Shakeables Soft & Chewy Treats for Dogs, Turkey flavour lot codes 2342, 2325, 2331, 2332, 2341, 3016, 3017, 3018 and 3046, and Lamb flavour lot code 2338. The chicken flavour was not affected. | veterinarypracticenews.com ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Potential choking risk from small pieces of blue plastic that entered the food during production | Three weight-management canned varieties, including PEDIGREE+ Healthy Weight Premium Ground Entree | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Taste of the Wild | Salmonella (Diamond Gaston, SC plant co-manufacturing event) | Dry dog food produced at the Gaston, SC plant | pawdiet.com ↗ | |
| Natural Balance | Salmonella (Diamond Gaston, SC plant co-manufacturing event) | Sweet Potato & Venison, Lamb & Rice, Sweet Potato & Bison, Vegetarian dry formulas | pawdiet.com ↗ | |
| Canidae | Voluntary recall for the potential for Salmonella, prompted by contamination found at the Diamond Pet Food plant in Gaston, South Carolina | Four dry dog foods: Canidae Dog, All Life Stages; Canidae Dog, Chicken Meal & Rice; Canidae Dog, Lamb Meal & Rice; Canidae Dog, Platinum. Limited to product manufactured between December 9, 2011 and January 31, 2012 at | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Diamond | Salmonella Infantis at the Gaston, SC plant; linked human outbreak (49 people) | Diamond Naturals and Puppy Formula plus co-manufactured brands including Taste of the Wild, Kirkland, Natural Balance, Wellness, Canidae, Solid Gold and 4health | foodsafetynews.com ↗ | |
| Iams | Aflatoxin detected above the acceptable limit. The FDA notice states "No illnesses have been reported in association with this production | Iams ProActive Health Smart Puppy dry dog food, one production lot, use-by / expiration date 5 February 2013 or 6 February 2013: 7.0 lb bag (code 12784177I6, UPC 1901402305); 8.0 lb bag (codes 12794177D2 and 12794177D3 | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potential Salmonella contamination, identified through routine sampling by the FDA. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to | A single lot of Merrick Doggie Wishbone pet treat (Item #29050, UPC 2280829050, Lot 11031, Best By 30 Jan 2013). The notice states only one lot of Doggie Wishbone is affected and 'No other Merrick brand products are in | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date.' | Merrick Jr. Texas Taffy pet treat (Item #27077, UPC 02280827077), all lots up to and including 10364. | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date.' | All lots of the 10 oz 'Beef Filet Squares' for Dogs and 'Texas Hold'ems' pet treats (Item #60016). Final and broadest stage of the 2010 salmonella event. | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potential Salmonella contamination. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to date for either lot of product. A sample tested | Extension of the July 2, 2010 recall to add 83 cases of 10 oz 'Texas Hold'ems' (Item #60016, Lot 10127, Best By May 6, 2012), in addition to the previously recalled Lot 10084TL7. | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Iams | Potential Salmonella contamination, described by P&G as a precautionary measure after it determined, in cooperation with FDA, that product | Iams Veterinary Dry Formulas — all dry sizes and varieties, all UPC codes; Eukanuba Naturally Wild, Eukanuba Pure and Eukanuba Custom Care Sensitive Skin — all dry sizes and varieties. "Best By" dates 01Jul10 through 0 | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Merrick | Potential Salmonella contamination; an FDA surveillance sample tested positive. The notice states: 'No illnesses have been reported to dat | 86 cases of 10 oz 'Beef Filet Squares for Dogs' pet treats (Item #60016, Lot 10084TL7, Best By March 24, 2012). | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Natural Balance | Salmonella positive test | Sweet Potato & Chicken dry (5 and 28 lb bags) | pawdiet.com ↗ | |
| Merrick | Possible Salmonella contamination, detected by FDA routine testing in December 2009; a follow-up inspection found deficiencies in the pack | Merrick Beef Filet Squares for dogs with a package date of 'Best By 111911', packaged in a 10-ounce green, red and tan re-sealable plastic bag. | prnewswire.com ↗ | |
| Nutro | Small pieces of melted plastic found in the production line of select NUTRO dry dog and cat food products. Nutro's press release, reproduc | Per AVMA/JAVMA: 'Nutro Ultra Puppy food in 4.5-pound packages, bar code 79105 51313, and Nutro Natural Choice: Chicken Meal, Rice and Oatmeal Formula Small Bites Puppy food in 5-pound packages, bar code 79105 23050' an | avma.org ↗ | |
| Nutro | Incorrect levels of zinc and potassium in finished product resulting from a production error by a US-based premix supplier. Per the FDA-po | Select varieties of NUTRO NATURAL CHOICE COMPLETE CARE Dry Cat Foods and NUTRO MAX Cat Dry Foods with 'Best If Used By Dates' between May 12, 2010 and August 22, 2010. | web.archive.org ↗ | |
| Orijen | Vitamin A depletion from 60 kGy gamma irradiation required for import to Australia. The recall itself covered Orijen CAT food. | All Orijen cat food sold in Australia. Orijen dog food was withdrawn from shelves precautionarily, the company citing cats eating from dog bowls. | img.petfoodindustry.com ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Potential Salmonella Schwarzengrund contamination at the Everson, Pennsylvania plant | All product made at Everson between 18 February and 29 July 2008, including Large Breed Adult | web.archive.org ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Potential Salmonella contamination. Mars states there were no complaints or reports of injury | Complete Nutrition Small Crunchy Bites, 20 lb bags; lot 830BFCAT02; Best Buy 07/2009 | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Possible contamination with metal fragments in chilled dog rolls | Chilled dog rolls | nzherald.co.nz ↗ | |
| Natural Balance | Possible botulinum toxin (Castleberry's co-packer) | Four canned varieties: Irish Stew, Chinese Take Out, Hobo Chili, Southern Style Dumplings | pawdiet.com ↗ | |
| Natural Balance | Melamine in rice protein concentrate (industry-wide 2007 event) | Venison & Brown Rice dog foods, venison treats, venison cat food | pawdiet.com ↗ | |
| Royal Canin | Melamine in rice protein concentrate (industry-wide 2007 event) | Veterinary Diet formulas; expanded May 2007 to Sensible Choice and Kasco dry | petful.com ↗ | |
| Iams | Wheat gluten adulterated with melamine, supplied by ChemNutra Inc. and used by contract manufacturer Menu Foods; P&G Pet Care joined Menu | Iams and Eukanuba canned and small foil pouch "wet" cat and dog foods manufactured at Menu Foods Inc.'s Emporia, Kansas plant: 3 oz., 5.5 oz., 6 oz. and 13.2 oz. cans and 3 oz. and 5.3 oz. foil pouches bearing code dat | wayback.archive-it.org ↗ | |
| Nutro | Melamine contamination traced to wheat gluten supplied by ChemNutra Inc. (imported from Xuzhou Anying Biologic Technology Development Co., | Nutro-branded canned and pouch WET dog food produced by Menu Foods. Menu Foods' own recall site carried four Nutro dog listings: 'Nutro' / 'Nutro Ultra' (12.5 oz cans 3U-104 Adult, 3U-204 Puppy, 3U-304 Weight Managemen | web.archive.org ↗ | |
| Royal Canin | Excess vitamin D3 | Multiple Veterinary Diet canned dog and cat formulas | petful.com ↗ | |
| Diamond | Aflatoxin contamination in corn | Diamond, Country Value and Professional dry foods produced at the Gaston, SC plant | petful.com ↗ | |
| Pedigree | Mould found in raw materials at the Pakchong, Thailand plant | Pedigree dry dog food and several dog treat products made at Pakchong | taipeitimes.com ↗ | |
| Merrick | 'Pet treats containing salmonella' (FDA Enforcement Report wording). Classified by FDA as Class I. Recall #V-007-3. | Merrick Brand Pet Treats Delicatessen Style Beef Steak Patties, packaged 75 treats per case, Lot PG1621. Volume in commerce: 330 cases of 75 patties each. | web.archive.org ↗ |
11 of the 31 brands here have no recall on file. That is history, not a guarantee: a brand can be clean because it is careful, because it is small, or because it is new. Each card states what the record was checked against, and when.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records, Petful, PawDiet and DogFoodAdvisor recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA enforcement records (2023–2026 raw-food recalls involve other brands) and independent recall databases.
No recall on record
Checked as of 2026-07-27 against EU RASFF public feed notifications (2014–2026), France RappelConso, and Wonderfood/Oasy public notices.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against FDA Animal & Veterinary Recalls & Withdrawals database and fda.gov recall search; AVMA pet food recall list; Dog Food Advisor recall archive. No Crave entry since the 2017 launch..
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against No recall, withdrawal or safety alert for any Nulo product was found in any source checked on 2026-07-26. Nulo was established in 2010 (per Apax's own announcement), so the window that must be cover.
No recall on record
Checked as of July 2026 against No recall of Acana dog food was found in any source checked on 2026-07-26. SOURCES CHECKED THAT RETURNED NOTHING: (1) FDA, Animal & Veterinary 'Recalls & Withdrawals' listing at https://www.fda.gov/.
A recall count is not a severity score, and this page does not turn one into a number. The events differ in kind. A voluntary, limited-lot withdrawal with no reported illness is the system working as designed. A supplier premix error that reaches millions of cans, or a contaminated plant that ships under a dozen labels, is a different class of event entirely. 6 of these 55 records mention illness, death, a linked outbreak or a class-action settlement; the timeline draws those with a filled marker and the other 49 hollow. Both channels — the fill and the scope sentence printed beneath each event — carry the same fact, because colour alone never carries meaning here.
Co-manufacturing is the part most recall lists hide. Many brands do not own a plant, so one plant's problem arrives under several logos at once. The 4 events dated 2012 in this table are a single salmonella contamination at the Diamond plant in Gaston, South Carolina, recorded under 4 brand names: Canidae, Diamond, Natural Balance and Taste of the Wild. That is why the brand profiles record who actually manufactures a food rather than whose name is on the bag.
On sourcing: 15 of the 55 events link to a notice published by the FDA. The remaining 40 link to independent recall archives, because no retrievable FDA notice exists for them — older events in particular fall off federal pages. Those are secondary sources, they are labelled as such on hover, and every outbound source link on this page is nofollow. We replace an archive link with an FDA primary whenever one can be retrieved; if you have a notice we have missed, send it to us. For live alerts rather than history, the FDA maintains its own animal and veterinary recall page.
Tracker checked 2026-07-25 Methodology